My struggle with Acne, the solution that did not work: An acne product review

Throughout my life I have struggled with acne. It is not severe but enough to make me embarrassed. Maybe I am too self-conscience about my acne problem because I suffer from eczema and my skin is just super sensitive to products.

For a long time, about five years in a row, I was using Clinique 3 step in Extra mild. But one day it stopped working. Maybe it was the stress I was enduring at that time. I was moving back to Los Angeles and finishing my studies. Stress can make you break out. Nonetheless, I keep trying Clinique but it was just not working.

I got the opportunity to try out an acne treatment from Mary Kay called Clear Proof. It is a four-step process. The first step is Clear Proof® Clarifying Cleansing Gel. The second step is Clear Proof® Blemish Control Toner and the third is Clear Proof® Acne Treatment Gel. The last step is the Clear Proof® Oil-Free Moisturizer for Acne-Prone Skin.
IMG_4820

The first and second day my pores felt clean. But it was not until a week later or so that my skin started becoming extremely dried. Dried to the point where I was putting extra face lotion and it was not even making my skin moist.

I though to myself maybe I have to cut the four step, which is the Clear Proof® Acne Treatment Gel. So I did the treatment every other day with the fourth step two times a week. That didn’t help.

Here are images after one week and half.

My skin was extremely dried after Mary Kay Clear Proof Acne Treatment

My skin was extremely dried after Mary Kay Clear Proof Acne Treatment

I decided to quit the treatment by the end of the third week. My skin on my cheeks and around my mouth was suffering from inflammation, redness and sensitivity. I could not even put water on my face without it feeling that the water was burning my skin.

I am extremely disappointed with this product. It is definitely not worth the money. I should have know because this treatment is one type, it doesn’t have a sensitive skin type or extremely oily type. When products don’t have that, it means they do not usually work.

I decided to give Clinique another tried. I just ordered it and hopefully it can reverse the side effects from the Mary Kay Clear Proof.

Wish me luck.

Maria


Disclaimer: I received this product for free as a selected participate for the website, Influenster.com. Anyone can join this website for free. Influenster.com gives out products based on your interest and surveys you filled out. Influenster.com by no means tells you to write a positive review of the products it sends out. Therefore, all the comments made above are my truest thought and review of the products.

3 thoughts on “My struggle with Acne, the solution that did not work: An acne product review

  1. I’ve had this same exact problem -sensitive skin underneath the acne. I wrote a blog post about this just this morning. It’s on my blog under Product Reviews and Beauty. It’s about Garnier skin care. I’m not telling you this to get a follow, and I don’t want to be pushy. If you want to read it, it’s up to you, but I’d thought I’d let you know just in case you’d be interested.

Leave a Reply

