This is Halloween DIY: Mermaid Crown & Mermaid Bra

It is that time of year, my favorite time of year, Halloween! I love this day of the year because it combines two of my favorite things: DIYs + Dressing Up. Since I love Halloween so much, I will feature three posts, this being the first of the series.

This is Halloween, everybody makes a scene, everyone makes a DIY. 

Mermaid Crown DIY

Materials:

Supplies needed for the Crown

Supplies needed for the Crown

  • 1 Plastic Crown (I got my at 99 cents store)
  • Multiple Silver Pipe Cleaners
  • Various Types of Seashells
  • Hot Glue Gun
  • Hot Glue
  • Multiple Flatback Pearls

Instructions:

1.  Remove extra accessories from the crown. I had to remove feathers.

2.  Start covering the crown with the silver pipe cleaners. I recommend starting from the bottom and tightly wrapping it.

Wrapping the Crown with the silver pipe cleaners

Wrapping the Crown with the silver pipe cleaners

3.  Arrange the seashells the way you like it. I had the big shells in the crown to give it a center balance.

4.  Hot glue the shells.

Gluing the seashells to the crown

Gluing the seashells to the crown

4.  Hot glue the flat-back pearls where the mini gaps are between the shells.

There you have it, an undersea princess crown for any mermaid.

Viola, a finished mermaid crown

Viola, a finished mermaid crown

Mermaid Seashell Bra DIY

Materials:

  • 1 Old Bra
  • Rose Gold or any Acrylic Paint that looks like sand
  • Various Types of Seashells
  • Hot Glue Gun
  • Hot Glue
  • Multiple Flatback Pearls
  • 2 string of pearls
  • White sewing thread
  • sewing needle

Instructions:

  1. Paint the bra with the rose gold acrylic paint. I use a strapless bra, but you can have straps and decorate them too.
  2. Arrange the seashells the way you like it.
  3. Sew one strung pearl set from the center of the bottom of the bra.
  4. Sew the other half where it ends. Mine finished at the other side of the bra cup.
  5. Repeat step 3 and step 4 for the other strung pearl set.
  6. Hot glue the shells.
  7. Hot glue the flat-back pearls at the edge of the bra to outline the bra.
  8. Hot glue the flat-back pearls where the mini gaps are between the shells.

Viola, a mermaid inspired top for your Halloween outfit.

A look at the bra

A look at the bra

Completing the look

I completed my mermaid look with a seaweed green mesh long-sleeve and an emerald green mini shirt with a long sheer emerald skirt over.

I use gray, white, pearl, silver and every shade of green eye shadow to create a Peter Pan mermaid face. I use nail glue to glue various sizes of clear, teal, and pearl sequins.

A mermaid crown paired with a mermaid bra on top of a sea foam green mesh top.

A mermaid crown paired with a mermaid bra on top of a sea foam green mesh top.

Now, I am off to the deep blue sea.

Till the next time, stay curious and you will discover a world beyond yours.

Maria

2 thoughts on “This is Halloween DIY: Mermaid Crown & Mermaid Bra

  1. Pingback: Simple Halloween Party Snacks | Yaya, I am Maria!
  2. Pingback: Halloween Look of 2015 | Yaya, I am Maria!

Leave a Reply

