Vegan Delight: A Restaurant Review of Erin McKenna’s Bakery 

I went out on an adventure to eat some vegan donuts, however plans went arid.

Why was I in the hunt for vegan donuts? I do have to put in disclaimer here, I am not vegan or vegetarian but I do believe that we should incorporate more vegetarian meals in our diet. As a foodie, I am always curious on different methods and ingredients to cook. I believe that vegan food have to be the most creative in order to achieve an excellent favor. Thus, inspiring me to look at ingredients in a different light.

Back to my story. Even with the plans out the window, we venture on to a different vegan bakery in West LA, called Erin McKenna’s Bakery NYC.

Erin McKenna's Bakery NYC

Erin McKenna’s Bakery NYC

I ordered the soft served vegan twist ice cream of chocolate and vanilla with chocolate chips.

Soft-serve Vegan Twist Ice Cream with chocolate chips from Erin McKenna's Bakery

Soft-serve Vegan Twist Ice Cream with chocolate chips from Erin McKenna’s Bakery

The main ingredient of the ice cream was coconut milk. I do have to say beforehand I am not a fan of the heavy taste of coconut. However, I was surprised by the soft-serve ice cream, the coconut flavor was absent. The ice cream was light and fluffy.  I only wish that the chocolate flavoring was more present. Nevertheless, the ice cream was a delight and highly recommended

My friend ordered  a toasted coconut vegan donut.

Toasted Coconut Donut

Every time I think of a vegan donut, I think of dryness. This donut was not dry whatsoever. It was more denser than normal donuts however. The coconut flavor, again, was not overwhelming.  It had a zesty taste, which is my favorite.

I give this bakery:

Taste Rating System Rico 3

The main base ingredient of coconut is well balance with every sugary sweet and not overwhelming your palate with a single note flavor.

With a such good taste of goodies, this bakery gets $$$ = la dolorosa. This bakery is definitely is a treat you give yourself on a special occasion or when you have a huge huge craving and don’t mind the huge hole in your wallet afterwards.

Thanks to Sylvitahandmade for the vegan adventure! Watch her YouTube review of the bakery. Until next time, foodies.

Con Amor, 

La Boquisabrosa

Maria


If you like my food blog section, please Like my Facebook Page.

If you want me to review a place, or what to contribute a recipe, please email me at laboquisabrosa@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

